Open top menu
Monday, 20 November 2017

The Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWASIEC) has declared the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) the winner of the local government elections conducted on Saturday.
The APC won the 16 chairmanship positions in the 16 local government areas (LGAs).

The electoral body said the announcement of the results was delayed due to late arrival of results from two LGAs whose elections ended at about 3pm on Saturday afternoon.

The electoral body’s chairman, Dr Usman Ajidagba, who announced the results yesterday, said the APC won 181 councillorship seats, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 8.
He said that the elections for four councillorship seats were inconclusive in Ilorin West, Moro and Edu LGAs.

He thanked the people of the state for their peaceful conduct and orderliness during the election.
Different Themes