Open top menu
Tuesday, 11 July 2017

The Acting President Prof. Yemi Osinbajo has approved the appointment of 19 judges for the National Industrial Court of Nigeria.
In a statement issued by the National Judicial Council (NJC) and signed by its spokeman, Soji Oye, the judges will be sworn in on Friday by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Walter Onnoghen.
Nigerian Judges
“They will be sworn in by the honourable, the chief justice of Nigeria and chairman, national judicial council, Hon. Justice W. S. N. Onnoghen, GCON, on Friday, 14th July, 2017, by 3pm at the Supreme Court of Nigeria,” it read.
The appointment of the judges will bring the total number of judges to 28 in exclusion of the President of the court.
According to the official website of the NICN, the court only has the President and nine other judges currently. meanwhile the act establishing the court stipulates that there must be a minimum of 12 justices.
Below are the list of the 19 judges.
 Targema John Iorngee (Benue)
Namtari Mahmood Abba (Adamawa)
Nweneka Gerald Ikechi (Rivers)
Kado Sanusi (Katsina)
Adeniyi Sinmisola Oluyinka (Ogun)
Abiola Adunola Adewemimo (Osun)
Opeloye Ogunbowale A (Lagos)
Essien Isaac Jeremiah (Akwa-Ibom)
Elizabeth Ama Oji (Ebonyi)
Arowosegbe Olukayode Ojo (Ondo)
Ogbuanya Nelson S. Chukwudi (Enugu)
Bashir Zaynab Mohammed (Niger)
Galadima Ibrahim Suleiman (Nasarawa)
Bassi Paul Ahmed (Borno)
Danjidda Salisu Hamisu (Kano)
Hamman Idi Polycarp (Taraba)
Damulak Kiyersohot Dashe (Plateau)
Alkali Bashar Attahiru (Sokoto)
Mustapha Tijjani (Jigawa)
The court has exclusive jurisdiction in civil causes and matters relating to or connected with any labour, employment, trade unions, industrial relations and matters arising from workplace, the conditions of service, including health, safety, welfare of labour, employee, worker and matter incidental thereto or connected therewith.
The court also has exclusive jurisdiction in civil matters relating to, connected with or arising from Factories Act, Trade Disputes Act, Trade Unions Act, Workmen’s Compensations Act or any other Act or Law relating to labour, employment, industrial relations, workplace or any other enactment replacing the Acts or Laws (link to Constitution(Third Alteration) Amendment Act 2010).
Appeals also lie from the Court to the Court of Appeal as contained in Chapter IV of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999.
The National Industrial Court consists of the President of the Court and not less than twelve Judges. Presently the National Industrial Court is manned by the President and nine other Judges.
Different Themes